Not logged in
Path: Menu > Call for Papers

Call for Papers in .pdf


The series of MFCS symposia, organized alternately in the Czech Republic, Poland and Slovakia since 1972, has a long and well-established tradition. The MFCS symposia encourage high-quality research in all branches of theoretical computer science. Their broad scope provides an opportunity to bring together researchers who do not usually meet at specialized conferences. Quality papers presenting original research on theoretical aspects of computer science are solicited.

Topics of interest

Principal topics of interest include (but are not limited to):

  • algorithmic game theory,
  • algorithmic learning theory,
  • algorithms and data structures (incl. sequential, parallel, distributed, app roximation, graph, network, on-line, optimization),
  • automata, grammars and formal languages,
  • bioinformatics,
  • complexity (structural and computational),
  • computational geometry,
  • computer-assisted reasoning,
  • concurrency theory,
  • cryptography and security,
  • databases and knowledge-based systems,
  • formal specifications and program development,
  • foundations of computing,
  • logic in computer science,
  • mobile computing,
  • models of computation,
  • networks (incl. wireless, sensor, ad-hoc),
  • parallel and distributed computing,
  • quantum computing,
  • semantics and verification of programs,
  • theoretical issues in artificial intelligence

Invited speakers

  • Georg Gottlob (U. Oxford)
  • Rolf Niedermeier (TU Berlin)
  • Antonino Salibra (U. Venice)
  • Nicole Schweikardt (Goethe U. Frankfurt)
  • Esko Ukkonen (U. Helsinki)
  • Igor Walukiewicz (U. Bordeaux)
  • Gerhard J. Woeginger (TU Eindhoven)
  • Mihalis Yannakakis (Columbia U.)

Program Committee

  • Gilles Barthe (IMDEA, Madrid),
  • Lars Birkedal (ITU, Copenhagen),
  • Michele Bugliesi (U. Ca' Foscari, Venice),
  • Giuseppe Castagna (CNRS Paris),
  • Jeremie Chalopin (U. Marseille),
  • Krishnendu Chatterjee (IST Austria),
  • Corina Cirstea (U. Southampton),
  • Andrea Clementi (U. Rome, Tor Vergata),
  • Artur Czumaj (U. Warwick),
  • Alfredo De Santis (U. Salerno),
  • Josep Diaz (UPC Barcelona),
  • Thomas Erlebach (U. Leicester),
  • Michael Fellows (CDU, Darwin),
  • Maribel Fernandez (King's College, London),
  • Marcelo Fiore (U. Cambridge),
  • Rudolf Fleischer (German U. Tech., Oman),
  • Fedor Fomin (U. Bergen),
  • Yuxi Fu (SJTU, Shanghai),
  • Stefan Funke (U. Stuttgart),
  • Leszek Gasieniec (U. Liverpool),
  • Subir Ghosh (TIFR, Mumbai),
  • James Harland (RMIT, Melbourne),
  • Lane Hemaspaandra (U. Rochester),
  • Giuseppe F. Italiano (U. Rome, Tor Vergata),
  • Kazuo Iwama (Kyoto U.),
  • Juhani Karhumaki (U. Turku),
  • Stefan Katzenbeisser (TU Darmstadt),
  • Adrian Kosowski (INRIA Bordeaux),
  • Jan Kratochvil (Charles U. Prague),
  • Jan van Leeuwen (U. Utrecht),
  • Leonid Libkin (U. Edinburgh),
  • Pasquale Malacaria (Queen Mary U., London),
  • Bernard Mans (Macquarie U., Sydney),
  • Mohamed Reza Mousavi (TU Eindhoven),
  • Petra Mutzel (TU Dortmund),
  • Mogens Nielsen (Aarhus U.),
  • Leszek Pacholski (U. Wroclaw),
  • Gennaro Parlato (U. Southampton),
  • Paolo Penna (U. Salerno),
  • Giovanni Pighizzini (U. Milano),
  • Grigore Rosu (U. Illinois, Urbana),
  • Branislav Rovan (Comenius U. Bratislava; conference chair),
  • Piotr Sankowski (Warsaw U.),
  • Vladimiro Sassone (U. Southampton; chair),
  • Yufei Tao (Chinese U., Hong Kong),
  • Lidia Tendera (U. Opole),
  • P.S. Thiagarajan (National U., Singapore),
  • Gyorgy Turan (U. of Illinois, Chicago),
  • Peter Widmayer (ETH Zurich; chair),
  • Masafumi Yamashita (Kyushu U., Fukuoka)

Important dates

Submission of papers: April 23, 2012 (extended to include weekend)
Acceptance notification: June 5, 2012
Final version: June 17, 2012
Conference: August 27 - 31, 2012


Submissions to MFCS must not exceed 12 pages (in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes style and including bibliography). If the authors believe that more details are essential to substantiate the main claims, they may include a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of the program committee. Simultaneous submissions of papers to any other conference with published proceedings or submitting previously published papers is not allowed. Only electronic submissions in the PDF format are accepted. Information about the submission procedure will be available on the conference web page in due time. The proceedings will be published in the new ARCoSS subline of Lecture Notes in Computer Science by Springer-Verlag.


Conference address:
Branislav Rovan, MFCS 2012,
Department of Computer Science, Comenius University,
FMFI UK, Mlynsk√° dolina, 842 48 Bratislava, Slovak Republic.

Phone: (+421 2) 602 95 102
Fax: (+421 2) 654 27 041
E-mail: mfcs at

The conference is organized by the Slovak Society for Computer Science and Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Informatics, Comenius University, Bratislava in cooperation with EATCS.